What is the helmet requirement in each state?

You may hate helmets, but that doesn’t mean you have a choice on whether to wear one! Helmet laws vary from state to state. This can be confusing and problematic, particularly for motorcyclists planning a multi-state trip. Below is a list of motorcycle helmet laws, by state. This list is for informational purposes, and you should note that these laws change from time to time, so it’s always a good idea to verify when planning a trip.  While the motorcycle accident lawyers at Riderzlaw don’t believe that anyone should be forced to wear a helmet, we STRONGLY recommend wearing one–even in states where you don’t have to.
 

Alabama –Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Alaska – Helmets required for drivers under 19, drivers with a learning permit, and all passengers.

Arizona – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 19.

Arkansas Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 21.

California – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Colorado – No helmet requirements.

Connecticut – Drivers and passengers under 18 must wear a helmet.

Delaware – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 19.

Florida – Helmet required for drivers and passengers under 21, and for drivers and passengers over 21 unless they have $10,000+ in medical insurance.

Georgia- Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Hawaii – Drivers and passengers under 18 must wear a helmet

Idaho – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Illinois – No helmet requirements.

Indiana – No helmet requirements.

Iowa – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Kansas –
Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Kentucky – 
Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 21.

Louisiana – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18, and drivers and passengers over 18 unless they have $10,000+ in medical insurance.

Maine – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 15, drivers with learner’s permit, and drivers who have had their motorcycle license less than one year.

Maryland – Helmets required for all drivers and passengers. Helmet reflectors required.

Massachusetts – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Michigan Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Minnesota
Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Mississippi Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Missouri Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Montana Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Nebraska – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Nevada – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

New Hampshire – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

New Jersey – All drivers and passengers must wear a helmet. Helmet reflectors required.

New Mexico –
Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18. Helmet reflectors required.

New York – All drivers and passengers must wear a helmet. Helmet reflectors required.

North Carolina – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

North Dakota – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18. Helmet reflectors required.

Ohio – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Oklahoma – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Oregon – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Pennsylvania – Helmets required unless 21 or over, and have had their motorcycle license at least two years, or who have completed an approved rider safety course. 

Rhode Island
– Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 21, and novice riders and their passengers.

South Carolina – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 21. Helmet reflects required.

South Dakota – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Tennessee – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Texas – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 21. Drivers and passengers over 21 may elect not to wear a helmet if they have $10,000+ in medical Insurance.

Utah – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Vermont – Helmets required for drivers and passengers. Helmet reflectors required.

Virginia – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Washington
– Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Wisconsin – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

Wyoming – Helmets required for drivers and passengers under 18.

District of Columbia – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.

Puerto Rico – Helmets required for drivers and passengers.  

If you have any questions regarding motorcycle laws, or if you or a loved one have been involved in a motorcycle accident and would like to discuss your options, our motorcycle accident lawyers are here to help.  We handle motorcycle accident cases throughout California, including Los Angeles, Orange County, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, and the San Francisco Bay Area.  Please send us an email or call our toll-free hotline.  There is never any charge or obligation for our initial consultation and case evaluation.